Minutes for 23rd January 2018

Minutes of the meeting of Coleraine Probus Club
42 members were in attendance.

Apologies: Joe Alcorn, Norman Gallagher, Hammy Houston, Cecil Leitch, Nigel Semple and Gordon Ward. (6)

The President, Mike Turner, welcomed members to the meeting together with guests, Maurice Platt and Beverly from the Simon Community. He then introduced this morning’s speakers Amanda and Fiona from the Simon Community the topic of their talk being “The Simon Community.” (A retiring collection will be taken for the Community.)

A summary of the talk is available in the speaker’s record book and here on the club website.

The President thanked Amanda and Fiona for giving members an insight into the many causes of homelessness and the efforts being made to combat this by the charity. The members showed their appreciation of an interesting and informative talk.

Weekly Business:
The minutes of the 16th January 2018 were, with the approval of the members, taken as read and signed by the President.

Matters arising: None not covered by the agenda.

Correspondence: None.

An apology was received from Joe Alcorn.

Welfare: Cecil Spotten said that Ernest Preece is currently in the Bohill Nursing Home.

Treasurer: An apology was also received from Nigel Semple

1. A.G.M
. The President reminded members that the AGM will take place in the Golf club on Tuesday 30th January 10:30 for 11:00 am. Afterwards the members could attendbuffet lunch will be held in the Lodge Hotel, 12:30 for 1:00 pm.

2. New Member. The President welcomed Robin Blackford and presented him with his membership documents and badges.

3. Quiz Night. Des Johnston informed members that the Twinning Society are holding a quiz in Portrush Town Hall on Friday 16th February 2018 at 7:30 pm. Admission £5:00

Next Meeting: The next speaker’s meeting will be held on Tuesday 6th Feb.2018 when the speaker will be Michael Moss on the subject of “The Golf Open”.

Closing Remarks: The President thanked members for attending and looked forward to seeing them at the AGM.

The meeting closed at 12:04 pm.

Signed: Des Moore
Date: 6th February 2018.